Trying to adjust front camber.

markyb31

I just bought a 93 banshee and the front rims are cambered in a lot and I want to bring them back closer to straight. Problem is, I can not get the tyrod loose at the rim or the upper a-arm loose. I got the pins and nuts off but what is the trick to getting them loose so I can adjust them. I tried to tap the tyrod end through and it wont move. The a arm will not budge either. Any suggestions? I am a 2 wheel guy so I am new to this stuff.

To get the balljoint/tie rod end loose, soak the shit out of it with some penetrating oil (WD40, etc.), like overnight. Then leave the nut on the end of the threads but DO NOT give in to the temptation to hammer on the nut; put a little tension on the rod or a-arm in the direction it's gonna come off (like for the tie rod push down on it) while you smack the spindle with a hammer perpendicular to the tie rod mounting location. So push down on the rod and tap the spindle from the front, the side, and the rear in a horizontal plane. Unless it's reaaaaally rusted (hence the lizard piss the night before) it'll usually pop right off after a few good hits or ten. When you go back together with it make sure to put some never-sieze on the tapered part of the balljoint or tie rod end where it goes into the spindle, doesn't hurt to put some on the threads either. Oh the reason you leave the nut threaded on while you're pushing and hammerin' is so that when it lets loose you don't go flying and bustin' knuckles, and the reason you don't hammer on the nut is because it'll crush the threads where the cotter pin goes through.

BTW stock a-arms aren't camber adjustable, but don't have hardly any camber built into them so you've likely got aftermarket a-arms (this is a good thing). In general 4 degrees of negative camber or so is beneficial to handling...just curious why you want to change it, other than just to try it and see what happens or if it's really drastically cambered in...

Edited by BenBB