Banshee won't start

ftball86

I am new to the Banshee and 2 strokes.

I just bought a '01 Banshee.  It started first kick at the guys house, got it home pulled carbs and cleaned them and cleaned/oiled the filters; still fired up on first kick.  I remembered seeing post on here stating that it is a good idea to drain tank since you don't know what they were using.  after I drained it, filled up with 91 and yamalube 2r (32:1).  now it won't start, am i missing something. 

I cleaned the carbs and filters last night, installed them this morning and it started no problem.  drove to get gas and yamalube, drained tank, refilled it, now no start (all in the same day).

it has t-5 pipes

dual k&n filters (no box)

TORS still installed, wires cut and removed

any help would be appreciated.

• Replies 44
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Maybe the motor has been running rich and the plugs have fouled. Pull the plugs, take a picture and post it here.

Also make sure you haven't over looked something simple. Key on, ignition switch on, and double check your gas selector. You stated that carbs are getting fuel. How do you know? Do you have clear fuel lines or did you check the carb bowls?

Also did you check to make sure the choke tube got reinstalled between the 2 carbs.

There are so many variables with banshees.

↑ this and also that the correct bowl went on the correct carb they are not interchangeable

i'll pull the plugs and send pic in the morning.

i know fuel is flowing because i pulled everything back off to verify i didn't mess something up since it was my first time and the carb bowls were full.

there is no key, switch is in the run position

and the tube between the two carbs in inlace.  i have double checked everything is inlace and tight, hopefully its the plugs.