Jump to content



Photo

how to tell if you have a bad stator


8 replies to this topic

#1 gstaten24

gstaten24

    HQ Soldier

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 165 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cannon Air Force Base, NM
  • Interests:riding my banshee with my wife, football and all other sports

Posted 21 February 2011 - 10:08 PM

hey all, i was just wondering how you would tell if you have a bad stator? i know all my other electrical parts are good because i have swapped them with known good ones. my bike cuts out on the left side when i try to get on it. i know the jetting is good because it ran fine before. i have a high output stator not sure which brand though, i know the ricky stators are known for going bad right away. is there a way to check your stator without taking it out and checking the ohms?

#2 bansheesandrider

bansheesandrider

    HQ Captain

  • HQ Premium Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 2,002 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NW Oregon

Posted 21 February 2011 - 11:18 PM

hey all, i was just wondering how you would tell if you have a bad stator? i know all my other electrical parts are good because i have swapped them with known good ones. my bike cuts out on the left side when i try to get on it. i know the jetting is good because it ran fine before. i have a high output stator not sure which brand though, i know the ricky stators are known for going bad right away. is there a way to check your stator without taking it out and checking the ohms?

You don't have to take it out, you just unplug it from the bike harness and check the resistance at the plug.

#3 gstaten24

gstaten24

    HQ Soldier

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 165 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cannon Air Force Base, NM
  • Interests:riding my banshee with my wife, football and all other sports

Posted 21 February 2011 - 11:19 PM

Wow totally over thought that one haha thanks for the reply! Just so i kno what is the resistance supposed to be?

#4 Larry's Shee

Larry's Shee

    HQ General

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 3,815 posts

Posted 22 February 2011 - 02:45 AM

Being that it's a Ricky I would think you need to get a hold of them for the specs. Or swap it for a known good one for testing.

#5 gstaten24

gstaten24

    HQ Soldier

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 165 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cannon Air Force Base, NM
  • Interests:riding my banshee with my wife, football and all other sports

Posted 22 February 2011 - 06:16 PM

So I checked my stator it's a lectrics (dont know how to spell it) 200 watt. The pickup coil resistance was 116 which is in specs however re charging coil resistance was 10.7 and the min for that is 13.7. Also my primary on the ignition coil was .5 with the max being .38 so I kno I have to get a new coil, also my secondary was OL so I'm guessing I need new wires too. Thing is I replaced the coil and wires bout a year b a half ago, around same time i got the stator. Could the low resistance be causing the coil to short? Sorry for the long post but thanks for the help!!

#6 knelson

knelson

    HQ Soldier

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 110 posts

Posted 22 February 2011 - 06:31 PM

i Know you said it cuts out on the left side when you get on it, but what makes you think it's electrical? did you swap your plug wires and the problem went to your right side of the engine? I'm sure your working with new plugs right?

#7 gstaten24

gstaten24

    HQ Soldier

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 165 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cannon Air Force Base, NM
  • Interests:riding my banshee with my wife, football and all other sports

Posted 22 February 2011 - 06:47 PM

Yea new plugs, just because it only does it when I put a load on the engine. If I'm in neutral and hit the throttle it runs fine no problems at all but when I put it in gear and try to take off I have the problem. I've had this issue for well over 8 mnths now and I've had those carbs apart 100 times cleaning em, making sure EVERYTHING is the same and still have the same problem. I also thought maybe a bad reed, swapped reeds and still same problem.

#8 Snopczynski

Snopczynski

    HQ Commander In Chief

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,960 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bonney Lake, WA
  • Interests:Wife, XBOX 360, guns, and the Banshee

Posted 22 February 2011 - 07:24 PM

Yea new plugs, just because it only does it when I put a load on the engine. If I'm in neutral and hit the throttle it runs fine no problems at all but when I put it in gear and try to take off I have the problem. I've had this issue for well over 8 mnths now and I've had those carbs apart 100 times cleaning em, making sure EVERYTHING is the same and still have the same problem. I also thought maybe a bad reed, swapped reeds and still same problem.

I could tell my stator was bad because I caught it smoking cigarettes and drinking.

Try swapping plug wires to the other side and see if the issue changes sides.

#9 gstaten24

gstaten24

    HQ Soldier

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 165 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cannon Air Force Base, NM
  • Interests:riding my banshee with my wife, football and all other sports

Posted 22 February 2011 - 07:27 PM

Haha mines not that bad, I'll do that next time I ride it. Hopefully I figure this out soon!