My Stock A-Arm Modification Thread

regalrocket

Ok, heres the story. I am a fabricator by trade. I have a bad ball joint on this machine, and HATE the fact that I can't replace the ball joints. I also don't want wider arms because I do a fair ammount of woods riding in tight areas, and just don't see the benefit to myself to get wider arms. I started by ordering 4 Moog ES2074R for 60 bucks. I am going to have the threaded adapters made up for them. The stock arms will have adapters installed so that I can replace the joints next time easily. I am also installing stock YFZ450 shocks, and will modify the lower mounts so that I don't have to grind the shocks at all. All work will be done with an angle grinder, hacksaw, and a TIG welder (a mig would work out just fine). You would be amazed what you can do with an angle grinder. Its my number 1 most used tools. These first few pictures are just the start, I will take it from beginning to end.

First thing you have to do is map the stock arms. A simple cardboard template works great. Make sure to mark the center line of the ball joint, you want that to go back where it belongs. I don't have a picture of the inital angle measurement. Pretty much you raise the chassis side of the arm until the ball joint mount plate is level with your table. Note the height of the chassis mount, and that will allow a quick way to set up the mount.

DSC01625.jpg