Banshee Bottom End Assembly Walkthrough

BigRed350x

This is just a simple walk-through. This is NOT a substitution for a clymer manual! This is to be used in conjunction with your clymer manual. If you are unsure of any of this or don't have the tools, send your engine to a professional builder to have the work done. I am not a professional builder, but I am happy to help anyone I can. Any time you encounter a locking washer, or a part that you bend to lock a nut in place, use NEW ones whenever possible.

Here's an outline of this build...

Stock stroke, Herr Jugs ported stock cylinders, Lightened flywheel, Billet Basket, Pancake Bearing, Shift Star Mod, Billet Water Impeller, Cool Head, Adjustable Timing Plate, Steel Bushing on idler gear, Cases port-matched to cylinders, Wiseco piston kit, Billet Dipstick, and FMF gold-series pipes.

Start with a clean work-space and clean materials.

5c8567a3.jpg

Insert the shift drum into the bottom case half.

DSC00001.jpg

Slide the front fork rod through the lower case half. Once the fork rod is through the case, align the first shift fork with the rod and shift drum and slide the rod through the fork. Once the shift rod is through the shift fork, install the C-clip on the end of the rod.

DSC00002.jpg

DSC00003.jpg

Here you can see the shift fork rod sitting flush with the cases.

DSC00005.jpg

Repeating the process with the rear shift fork rod.

DSC00006.jpg

DSC00007.jpg

DSC00008.jpg

DSC00009.jpg

Here you can see the shift drum, shift fork rods, and shift forks all installed.

DSC00010.jpg

• Like 2
  • Thanks 1

Next, install the shift drum keeper.

DSC00011.jpg

DSC00012.jpg

DSC00013.jpg

Install the neutral switch cover on the opposite side of the shift drum. I took this pic for reference, but waited to install this part until after I had the cases together since I am using a chain guard that bolts through the neutral switch cover.

DSC00014.jpg

Install the alignment dowel for the shift star.

DSC00015.jpg