4mil stroker, dune port, 34mm mikunis

Ducman

I've got no big carb or 4mm stroker experience and need a ball park starting point for the jetting.

Well I have my 4mm stroker, tripple exhaust port (aggressive dune port empahsis on top end, not quite a drag port through) installed and ready to go and no carbs to fire the bitch up. Shorty's racing didn't send my stock carbs back bored to 28mm with my motor when they sent it back. Got a hold of them and they said they would send them out ASAP but I still haven't got them almost 2 weeks later and they are a PITA to contact. :angry: The whole story will be in the product review I plan on doing when I finally get shee running and some seat time. I wanted a set of bigger carbs anyway so now I have a set of 34mm Mikuni flatsides in the mail.

Shorties said that the recommended main size on the bored carbs was a 320 which seems fairly small to me although 4mm strokers are a whole different animal in which I have no experience. But most of Shortys experience is with CPI's and from what I've gathered and experienced Rockets like a bigger main than just about any other pipe and CPI's run a somewhat leaner main. I was running slightly rich on 320's with the stock carbs/motor.

I bought a set of 34mm Mikuni flat slide carbs from Moto Carrera. They said the carbs come standard with a #50 pilot and a #280 main and I forget what needle. They said that with a bigger carb the main size needed will be smaller than say the stock carb size but weren't much help at all with giving me a ball park starting point. I'd say about 2 degrees more intellegent than the average stealership. :shootself: They are sending a #40 and #45 pilots with the carbs, I can get #30 or 35s locally. They said they would try anywhere from a #260 to a #320 main ( I have all those sizes).