Long Travel newbie

JasonB

you guys need stickies around this forum! seriously i got a bunch of dumbass questions coming up with my first Banshee purchase this month lol. I have a few Banshee's im looking at around the 2K price range with titles in decent shape but they are all on stock suspension. I want a nice suspension set up and have about 1K to spend after the bike cost which i project will be about 2K. my budget is about 3K total for bike and new suspension depending on what i find and want. I dont MX i just want a cushy ride for dunes and occasional trail riding. Im not spending 3 or 4K on suspension just want to put that out there! 

So the Elka stage 3 front and rear shocks with long travel linkage, is that something that would utilize the stock swingarm and give me the kind of rear end that will soak up whoops and rough dunes? I am looking at new a arm set ups but im totally new to suspension and arm set ups on quads. is there a resource or something around here for this info?  I was hoping for a long travel set up that will allow me to ride like an idiot across most terrain 

you guys hate Alba arms right? 

http://www.ebay.com/itm/ELKA-STAGE-3-SHOCKS-ALBA-ATV-LONG-OR-STANDARD-TRAVEL-A-ARMS-YAMAHA-BANSHEE-/131587902129?hash=item1ea3400ab1:g:S7kAAOSwgQ9V25~x&vxp=mtr

thats junk right?? 

Heres the elka stage 3 with long travel link im talking about. that utilizes the stock swinger right? 

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Yamaha-Banshee-350-Elka-Stage-3-Rear-Shock-Long-Travel-Linkage-/140618565366?fits=Model%3ABanshee+350&hash=item20bd8506f6:m:mHQyOYoACiFHHZCLokGUXOw&vxp=mtr

i may have found a set of complete stage 3 Elka front and rear shocks with the long travel rear linkage locally for a good price, but i dont know shit about this subject. I would just need a arms/ball joints/tie rods if i bought those shocks and linkage right?