Banshee bogs bad but idles great!

Hey Everyone!

First off, GREAT forum with TONS of info on everything and great people. Im new to the banshee world and am having a problem with my 99' shee.

I bought the bike in a box basically b/c the previous owner locked up one cylinder and let it sit for a year. I put new cylinders, pistons, gaskets and rings on the bike and have 130~ psi of pressure on each cylinder. Sparks seems good but not too experienced in electrical so not sure if its 100%. I did take the stator cover off and set the pickup coil gap with a feeler gauge and cleaned the terminals. The bike will idle perfect with a bit of fuel leaking out each pipe but when i go to take off, i have to really clean out the pipes to get it to rev nice and even then it seems a bit off. 

I have synced the carbs with the windows and i DO have the tors tops but the tors system is disabled (unplugged the "brain"). I've got new fuel line and cleaned the carbs out. All the jets are stock for my year (200 main and 25 pilot) and my needle clips are at the stock position (middle posistion). Now the only thing he has done to the bike is added a k&N high flow air filter, boost bottle and v-force 3 reids. Im also unsure if i am missing any parts to the bike ( seems like there should be o-rings for the headers? and also maybe a spring missing between the headers?)

I've tried pretty much everything i could think of now [both carbs are set up to STOCK specs as per my manual (air screws are 1 1/2 turns out, needle position, jets)] and it STILL has to much fuel going into the engine. Like i said before though if i get it cleaned out a bit it will run semi ok. Not a ton of smoke comming out of the pipes but just enough (unless im just taking off then its a smokeshow). I can upload a video or send it if needed.

Any Help would be much appreciated! 

Thanks!!

• Replies 33
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Welcome!!

What is your elevation?